LeNost.jpg

Ile
Hervé Le Nost

Granite, steel, bronze, 150 x 150 x 15cm

Command of the Art Center (owner Ciap) in 1994

Born in Guingamp in 1957, Hervé Le Nost lives and works in Cast in France.

Hervé Le Nost’s work is entirely dedicated to liquid, to fluidity. Following the exhibit “Island, earth, water, sky” presented at the Art Center in 1994, the artist installed a series of forms representing Vassivière Island in different materials (bronze, steel, granite, skin, porcelain and electric light) that are displayed in the exhibit space on the ground and on the wall. The presence of each material is justified either in the history of the site or by its color.

Later on he chose to reinstall two of his sculptures, (in steel and in granite), one in the park, above a fishing area on which floats another bronze form representing the Island in reduced dimensions. The fishing area is witness to a process of deterioration of this irregular and insular form, with each particular material being exposed in order to memorize and qualify a succession of periods before and after this earth was isolated by the waters (from the stone age to the post-modern period).

As a result of the building of a dam, Vassivière Island is artificial and consequently an entirely separate artifact. Water gave it its shape, sculpted it. In this double game of representation and reality – where nature stops and culture begins – the place for exhibition becomes the piece itself. Since all art is artifice, the Island becomes a metaphor for a reflection on the nature of art. 

 

Copyright: André Morin

Print

LeNost.jpg

Ile
Hervé Le Nost
1994

Granit, acier, bronze, 150 x 150 x 15 cm

Commande du Centre d'art (propriété du Ciap) en 1994

Né en 1957 à Guingamp, Hervé Le Nost vit et travaille à Cast en France.

L’œuvre d’Hervé Le Nost est entièrement dédiée au liquide, à la fluidité. Suite à l’exposition « Ile, terre, eau, ciel » présentée au Centre d’art en 1994, l’artiste a installé une déclinaison de formes représentant l’île de Vassivière en divers matériaux (bronze, acier, granit, peau, porcelaine et lumière électrique) qui se déclinent dans l’espace d’exposition sur le sol et au mur. Chaque matière trouve la justification de sa présence soit dans l’histoire du site, soit par sa couleur.

Par la suite, il a choisi de réinstaller deux de ses sculptures (en acier et en granit) dans le parc, au-dessus d’une pêcherie sur laquelle flotte une autre forme en bronze représentant l’île en dimensions réduites. Un processus de mise en abîme de cette forme irrégulière et insulaire investit donc la pêcherie, isolant une particularité pour chaque matière, dans un souci de mémoriser et de qualifier une succession de périodes avant et après l’isolement de cette terre par les eaux (de l’âge de pierre à l’époque postmoderne).

Résultant de la construction d’un barrage, l’île de Vassivière est artificielle et par conséquent artefact à part entière. L’eau lui a donné sa forme, l’a sculptée. Dans ce double jeu de la représentation et du réel – où la nature s’arrête et où la culture commence – le lieu d’exposition devient la pièce elle-même. Comme tout art est artifice, l’île devient une métaphore pour une réflexion sur la nature de l’art.

 

Crédits photographiques : André Morin

Print