sailstorfer-mercedes.jpg

Sternschnuppe
Michael Sailstorfer

Mercedes Benz, street lamp, elastic cable, metal 200 x 450 x 500 cm

Deposit of My Private Milan (owner My Private Milan) in 2009

Born in 1979 in Germany Vilsbiburg, Michael Sailstorfer lives and works in Berlin, Germany.

Transformations, adjustments contextual spatial appropriation, Michael Sailstorfer's work is quickly identified by his interest in daily objects, the materials around us, his fascination with identity and the specific history of these objects and their own destiny. He deasls with these things, breaking them up, separating them, deforming them, adapting them to gather them again, moving them, reinterpreting them and re-qualifying them. Such a distortion of the meaning of the object and parallel use of its formal qualities does not produce its destruction, the aim is rather to reconfigure and change its meaning. Two works by the german artist are presented in the wood of sculptures of Vassivière island. Placed in very different parts of the island - in the forest, near the lake, in the meadow - these works emphasize the artificiality of Vassivière island and his artistic vocation.

What makes Sailstorfer’s work so extraordinary is the ardent desire of its realization and the melancholy in which it is produced and tragedy aware of his destiny. Sternschnuppe (Shooting star) is one of the most important works of his career, for his extreme poetry, the power of the concept, the comic sense of its realization and the tragic note of its outcome. The artist presents himself initially as a dreamer, who no longer wish to be submitted to a mysterious entity when he desires to see a shooting star in the sky. It is a romantic desire to produce a natural phenomenon filled of emotions.

Whether true or not, the artist admits to have done this work for his girlfriend for who he wanted to send up shooting stars. The Mercedes W123 with a catapult for streetlights and directly built in front of the Centre international d'art et du paysage, welcomes visitors with humor, noting the entrance into an artistic territory, a place of curiosity and imagination.

 

Copyright: François Doury

Print

sailstorfer-mercedes.jpg

Sternschnuppe
Michael Sailstorfer
2009

Mercedes Benz, lampadaire, câble élastique, métal 200 x 450 x 500 cm

Dépôt de My Private Milan (propriété de My Private Milan) en 2009

Né en 1979 à Vilsbiburg en Allemagne, Michael Sailstorfer vit et travaille à Berlin en Allemagne.

Transformations, ajustements contextuels, appropriation spatiale, le travail de Michael Sailstorfer s’identifie rapidement par son intérêt pour les objets quotidens, les matériaux qui nous entoure, sa fascination pour l'identité et l'histoire spécifique de ces objets et leur propre destinée. Il s'attaque à ces choses, les brisant, les dissociant, les déformant, les adaptant pour les réunir à nouveau, les déplaçant, les réinterprétant et les requalifiant. Une telle déformation de la signification de l'objet et parallèlement l’utilisation de ses qualités formelles ne produit pas sa destruction ; le but est plutôt de le reconfigurer et changer son sens. Deux oeuvres de l'artiste allemand sont présentées dans le bois de sculptures de l'île de Vassivière. Placées dans des parties trés différentes de l'île - pleine forêt, bord du lac, prairie - ces oeuvres soulignent l'artificialité de l'île de Vassivière et sa vocation artistique. 

Ce qui rend le travail de Sailstorfer si extraordinaire, c'est l'ardent désir de sa réalisation ainsi que l'humeur mélancolique dans laquelle il est produit et la tragédie consciente de sa destinée. Sternschnuppe (Etoile filante), est l'une des oeuvres les plus importantes de son parcours, par son extrême poésie, la puissance du concept, le sentiment comique de sa réalisation et la note tragique de son aboutissement. L'artiste se présente au départ comme un rêveur, qui ne souhaite plus être soumis à une entité  mystérieuse quand il désire voir une étoile filante dans le ciel. C'est un souhait romantique de pouvoir produire un phénomène naturel chargé d’émotions. 

Que ce soit véridique ou pas, l’artiste avoue avoir fait cette oeuvre pour sa fiancée, pour qui il aurait voulu lancer des étoiles filantes. La Mercedes W123 équipée d'une catapulte pour réverbères et placée face au bâtiment du Centre international d'art et du paysage, accueille avec humour le visiteur, signalant l'entrée dans un territoire artistique, un lieu de curiosités et de fantaisie.


Crédits photographiques : François Doury

Print