Mosset.jpg

Sans titre (à Paul Cézanne)
Olivier Mosset
2000

Concrete 50 x 230 x 63cm

Commande of the Centre d'art (owner Frac Limousin) in 2005

Born in Bern in Swiss in 1944, Olivier Mosset lives and works in Arizona in United States.

Ever since 1964, Olivier Mosset has found himself in the context of critical analysis of painting. The chosen shape, a black circle painted in the center of a square, becomes a signature for him before he starts to adopt monochromes, a practice that derives from seeing painting as an object. Settled since 1977 in the United States, there he pursues extremely coherent work painting around questions concerning signature, anonymity, appropriation and repetition.

Maillol’s famous sculpture, Hommage to Cézanne was commissioned in 1912 by a committee of artists from Aix-en-Provence. For Maillol, this classical composition of a statue of a clothed woman carrying an olive branch was the best way to evoke painting. The work was installed in the Tuileries Gardens, then removed to near the Louvre without its original pedestal and offered to the Museum of Modern Art of the city of Paris.

Strolling in the Tuileries Gardens, Olivier Mosset discovered the abandoned pedestal with the inscription "To Paul Cézanne". He had a copy of this stone made at Bienne.

Showed at the Centre international d’art et du paysage of Vassivière Island in 2004, he has presented this work which signs the landscape in unusual fashion, both by Paul Cézanne and by Olivier Mosset. 

 

Copyright: Jean-Denis Frater

Print

Mosset.jpg

Sans titre (à Paul Cézanne)
Olivier Mosset
2000

Béton 50 x 230 x 63 cm

Commande du Centre d'art (propriété du Frac Limousin) en 2005

Né en 1944 à Berne en Suisse, Olivier Mosset vit et travaille en Arizona aux Etats-Unis. 

Dès 1964, Olivier Mosset s’inscrit d’emblée dans le contexte d’une analyse critique de la peinture. Le forme choisie d’un cercle noir peint au centre d’un carré deviendra pour lui signature avant qu’il ne revendique par la pratique de la monochromie, une vérité née de la peinture considérée comme objet. Installé depuis 1977 aux Etats-Unis, il y poursuit un travail peint extrêmement cohérent autour des questions de signature, d’anonymat, d’appropriation et de répétition.

La célèbre sculpture de Maillol, Hommage à Cézanne fut commandée en 1912 par un comité d’artistes d’Aix-en-Provence. Pour Maillol, cette composition classique qui représentait une statue de femme vêtue, portant une branche d’olivier, était la meilleure manière d’évoquer la peinture. L’œuvre fut installée au Jardin des Tuileries puis déplacée près du Louvre sans son socle d’origine et attribuée au Musée d’art moderne de la ville de Paris.

En se promenant dans le Jardin des Tuileries, Olivier Mosset découvre le socle abandonné avec l'inscription "A Paul Cézanne".  Il fit répliquer cette pierre à Bienne.

Dans le cadre d'une exposition au Centre international d’art et du paysage de l’île de Vassivière en 2004, il a souhaité présenter cette œuvre qui signe de façon commune le paysage à la fois par Paul Cézanne et par Olivier Mosset.

 

Crédits photographiques : Jean-Denis Frater

Print