estaque.jpg

Sans titre
Jean Estaque
1985

Granite, glass, wood, 270 x 110 x 60cm

Command of the Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière" (owner Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière") in 1985

Born in 1945 in Saint Girons in France, Jean Estaque lives and works in Savennes in France.

Situated on the edge of the forest a few meters from the most imposing sculpture on the Island, the tower of the Art Center, Jean Estaque’s work, carved from a block of granite, presents an asexual human figure.

This work clearly reveals three times, three dimensions. Provided with a head but without real corporal forms – a rectangular monolithic block – the surface of this figure shows two other dancing human forms engraved on the rock, and deep in the upper part a sort of window which is actually a cavity dug into the granite block and protected by a glass that encloses a group of four small unarticulated characters in painted wood.

This painting within the sculpture, precisely in its core, seems to present a somewhat clownish theater space, especially with its dismembered characters and their odd positioning, as if closed in and confined.

 

Copyright: André Morin


Print

estaque.jpg

Sans titre
Jean Estaque
1985

Granit, verre, bois, 270 x 110 x 60 cm

Commande du Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière" (propriété du Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière") en 1985

Né en 1945 à Saint Girons en France, Jean Estaque vit et travaille à Savennes en France.

Située à l’orée de la forêt et à quelques mètres de la sculpture la plus imposante de l’île, à savoir, la tour-phare du Centre d’art, l’œuvre de Jean Estaque, taillée dans un bloc de granit, fait émerger une figure humaine asexuée.

Cette œuvre s’articule clairement en trois temps. Pourvue d’une tête mais sans réelles formes corporelles – un bloc monolithique rectangulaire – cette figure exhibe, en surface, deux autres formes humaines dansantes gravées sur la roche et, dans sa partie supérieure, en profondeur, une sorte de vitrine qui est, en réalité, une cavité, creusée dans le bloc de granit, protégée d’un verre qui renferme une série de quatre petits personnages désarticulés en bois peints.

Ce tableau dans la sculpture, en son sein précisément, semble mettre en scène un espace théâtral, un peu clownesque, notamment par le démembrement des personnages, leurs positionnements étranges, comme resserrés, confinés.

 

Crédits photographiques : André Morin


Print