Lohaus.jpg

Essai / Par toi / Traces
Bernd Lohaus
1986-1992

Granite, 100kg

Deposit of the Frac Limousin (owner Frac Limousin/Conseil régional du Limousin) in 1992

Born in Düsseldorf in Germany in 1949, Bernd Lohaus died in Antwerp in Belgium in 2010.

In his work, Bernd Lohaus above all uses powerful and dense materials such as wood and stone. He favors elements that have already been used and bear the traces of human industry and time, laden with and enriched by a past to which they are witness. They still bear the scars of cuts, notches and carvings from their past functions. The primary language figuring on the rough supports is another fundamental aspect of the work of this artist who leads us to create correspondences between language and sculpture.

A great admirer of strong, hard, solid, compact materials, he quite naturally invested the granite rock of Limousin in the sculpture garden. On removing the blocks of granite from their original context to integrate them, through dislocation and positioning, with new compositions, he is careful not to alter them, not to efface what they have been. Far from disfiguring them, he restitutes an existence for them as a work, a possibility for them to figure in our present in another form. 

This horizontal sculpture obtains its strength from the way in which Lohaus disposes and orders the three stones in relation to one another, one beside the other. 

With Trial/ For You / Traces, Bernd Lohaus plays on the forms and position of these three blocks of granite while emphasizing in a precise arrangement the inscriptions: “Trial”, “For You” and “Traces” respectively written to the left, to the right and in the middle. The appearance of an elementary language by means of isolated words written on blocks of granite rock, vestiges of geological times, invites us to see in this association an intriguing temporal contrast. Through this sculpture, Bernd Lohaus convokes both the memory of geological times and the end of prehistoric times marked by the advent of writing.

 

Copyright: André Morin


Print

Lohaus.jpg

Essai / Par toi / Traces
Bernd Lohaus
1986-1992

Granit, 100 kg

Dépôt du Frac Limousin (propriété du Frac Limousin/Conseil régional du Limousin) en 1992

Né à Düsseldorf en Allemagne en 1949, Bernd Lohaus est décédé à Anvers en Belgique en 2010.

Dans son travail, Bernd Lohaus utilise surtout des matériaux puissants et denses tels le bois et la pierre. Il privilégie l’usage d’éléments qui ont déjà servi, portant les traces de l’industrie humaine et du temps, chargés et enrichis d’un passé dont ils témoignent. Ils affichent encore les stigmates des coupes, des encoches, des entailles, de leurs anciennes fonctions. La langue primaire figurant sur les supports bruts est une donnée tout aussi fondamentale dans le travail de cet artiste qui nous amène à créer des correspondances entre langue et sculpture.

Vouant une grande admiration aux matériaux forts, durs, solides, compacts, c’est tout naturellement qu’il investit la roche graniteuse limousine dans le parc de sculptures. En sortant les blocs de granit de leur contexte originel pour les intégrer, par déplacement et positionnement, dans de nouvelles compositions, il prend soin de ne pas altérer, de ne pas effacer ce qu’elles ont été. Loin de les défigurer, il leur restitue une existence, en tant qu’œuvre, une possibilité de figurer dans notre présent autrement. 

Cette sculpture horizontale tire sa force de la manière dont il dispose et ordonne les trois pierres les unes par rapport aux autres, les unes à côté des autres. 

Avec Essai / Par Toi / Traces, Bernd Lohaus joue sur les formes et la position de ces trois blocs de granit tout en soulignant par un agencement précis les inscriptions scripturaires : « Essai », « Par Toi », « Traces » respectivement inscrits à gauche, à droite et au milieu. L’apparition d’un langage élémentaire par le biais de mots isolés inscrits sur des blocs de roche graniteuse, traces des temps géologiques, nous invite à voir dans cette association un saisissant contraste temporel. Au travers de cette sculpture, Bernd Lohaus convoque conjointement la mémoire des temps géologiques et la fin des temps préhistoriques marquée par l’avènement de l’écriture.

 

Crédits photographiques : André Morin


Print