bouillon.jpg

Solstice d’été
François Bouillon
1984

Granite and lampblack, 400 x 100 x 100 cm

Command of the Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière" (owner Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière") in 1984

Born at Limoges in France in 1944, François Bouillon lives and works in Paris in France.

François Bouillon is particularly interested in civilizations such as the Dogons, the Australian aborigines or the Inuits, who live in a symbiotic, magical and pragmatic relation with nature. His work concerns essentially the manipulation of materials. Whether wood, stone or metal, the materials are used above all for their intrinsic “materiologic” qualities, but through the intervention of unexpected connections they undergo a semantic displacement that reveals them to us as resolutely invested with a symbolic dimension. 

François Bouillon thus describes Summer solstice: “The sculpture is made of two equilateral triangles that meet at the intersection to form a Jewish star. The center of gravity is perfectly geometrical. But when we move around it, we have the impression of an imbalance that is put right by an oval formed by holes pierced with locks of hair and inside which oil has been burned.” The stacking of the two blocks lends an odd impression of imbalance that the oval, formed by the traces of the absent fire, corrects. “The oval of fire links the two prisms like the solstice links two seasons.” The various geometric figures of the triangle, the star and the oval intervene in this work through complex relations of antinomy and complementariness, and help to build a monument of “unstable equilibrium”.

The notion of “solstice” - etymologically the stopping of the sun (sol “sun” and stare “to be immobile”) – materializes on Vassivière Island by means of the ovoid trace of fire that in a single unit links the two blocks of granite to the opposite positions. With Summer solstice, it is not only two contradictory forces that are put in play: the destructive force of the fire that burns, consumes and devours, and the resistance of the granite due to its crystalline essence and its very density, but at the same time two approaches to time, one limited (combustion), the other unchanging and indefinite (mineral).

 

Copyright: André Morin


Print

bouillon.jpg

Solstice d’été
François Bouillon
1984

Granit et noir de fumée, 400 x 100 x 100 cm

Commande du Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière" (propriété du Syndicat mixte "le Lac de Vassivière") en 1984

Né à Limoges en France en 1944, François Bouillon vit et travaille à Paris en France.

François Bouillon porte un interêt tout particulier aux civilisations qui, comme celles des Dogons, des Aborigènes australiens ou des Inuits, vivent en relation symbiotique, magique et pragmatique avec la nature. Son œuvre se fonde essentiellement sur la manipulation de matériaux. Qu’il s’agisse du bois, de la pierre ou du métal, ils sont avant tout utilisés pour leurs qualités « matériologiques » intrinsèques, mais subissent, par la truchement de rapprochements inattendus, un déplacement sémantique qui nous les désigne comme résolument investis d’une dimension symbolique. 

François Bouillon décrit ainsi Solstice d’été : « La sculpture est composée de deux triangles équilatéraux qui s’opposent à l’intersection et forment une étoile juive. Le centre de gravité est parfaitement géométrique. Mais lorsque l’on tourne autour, on a l’impression d’un déséquilibre qui est rattrappé par un ovale formé de trous percés avec des mèches et à l’intérieur desquels a brûlé de l’huile ». L’empilement des deux blocs donne une curieuse impression de déséquilibre que l’ovale, formé par les traces du feu absent, parvient à corriger. « L’ovale de feu lie les deux prismes comme le solstice lie deux saisons ». Les différentes figures géométriques que sont le triangle, l’étoile et l’ovale interviennent, dans cette œuvre, au travers de rapports complexes d’antinomie et de complémentarité et participent à l’édification d’un monument de « l’équilibre instable ».

La notion de « solstice » - étymologiquement l’arrêt du soleil (sol « soleil » stare « être immobile ») - se matérialise sur l’île de Vassivière par la trace de forme ovoïde du feu qui parvient à lier en un seul ensemble les deux blocs de granit aux positions pourtant opposées. Avec Solstice d’été, c’est non seulement deux forces contradictoires qui sont mises en jeu : la force de la destruction du feu qui brûle, consume, dévore et celle de la résistance du granit due à son essence cristalline et à sa densité même mais également deux approches du temps, celle, limitée, de la combustion et celle, inaltérable et indéfinie du minéral.

 

Crédits photographiques : André Morin


Print